UPDATED 16:53 EST / FEBRUARY 11 2014

Data economy survival demands informed strategies | #BigDataSV

BDSV2014_final-revAs if the CIO’s plate isn’t full enough with mobile, cloud services and software-defined architectures, we are entering a whole new economy where data will be the most valuable commodity and CIOs and whole corporations will rise or fall based on how well they exploit the zittabytes of data flooding the enterprise. In this new Data Economy, writes Wikibon Principal Contributor Jeff Kelly. But success requires strategy, and the right strategy starts with becoming informed, and woe betide the CIO who is caught out in the data storm without an umbrella.

Starting today, February 11, and going through Thursday theCUBE will webcast its second independent Big Data event, #BigDataSV, live on SiliconAngle.tv. Sponsored by leading Big Data companies HP Vertica, Syncsort, InfoObjects, MapR, Cloudera, Tresata and Sqrrl, it will feature interviews with leading experts in the field, interviewed by Wikibon CEO David Vellante and SiliconAngle CEO John Furrier. They will be asking the questions and getting the latest information that CIOs need to plot their organization’s course to success in the Data Economy.

CIOs face major issues in Big Data today. The first big question they need to answer is should they focus on building an internal Big Data capture and analysis infrastructure and start recruiting scarce experts in technologies like Hadoop and MapR, or should they build their strategy on cloud services. Either way, they need to start by defining where to focus initially — improving their organization’s understanding of their customers, designing better products, or perhaps creating their own Big Data products or services. How do they start changing the culture in their organization so that data analysis rather than seat-of-the-pants guesswork guides business decisions through the organization going forward.

Subjects covered

 .

Then they need to know what the vendors such as those sponsoring this event are doing, what directions they are taking in developing their products, and what they can offer users. Kelly promises that viewers will learn about:

.

  • The latest open source Big Data innovations from a list of startups and established vendors,

  • The product roadmaps of strategic direction of of Big Data technology and service providers,

  • Best practices and advice from experts with real-world experience,

  • Tips for managing the challenges of Big Data, including continuous availability, security, data privacy, data quality and breaking down data silos,band

  • The evolving role of public and private cloud in Big Data projects.

.

Wikibon Big Data Analyst Jeff Kelly will provide his analysis of the market and discuss Wikibon’s 2013 Big Data Vendor Review and Market Forecast report, scheduled for release just before the event starts.

Overall this is a not-to-be-missed event for CIOs who want to survive and prosper in the new Data Economy.

First day schedule

 .

bigdatasv3TheCUBE event kicks off today at 2:00 PM PST (5:00 PM EST) with Wikibon Cofounder and CEO David Vellante and SiliconAngle Founder and CEO John Furrier doing the interviews. Scheduled are:

  • David Richards, CEO of Wandisco at 2:30 PM PST (5:30 PM EST),
  • Chris Selland, VP of Marketing and Business Development, HP Vertica at 3:00 PM PST (6:00 PM EST),
  • Mike Hoskins, CTO Actian at 3:30 PM PST (6:30 PM EST),
  • Josh Rogers, President, Syncsort at 5:00 PM PST (8:00 PM EST),
  • Andre M. Boisvert, Action bosrd member at 5:30 PM PST (8:30 PM EST), and,
  • John Kriesa, VP of Strategic Marketing, Hortonworks and Eron Kelly from Microsoft at 6:30 PM PST (9:30 PM EST).

.

However the schedule can change without warning, and surprise guests are always a possibility. So this primises to be well worthwhile for anyone interested in Big Data.


Since you’re here …

Show your support for our mission with our one-click subscription to our YouTube channel (below). The more subscribers we have, the more YouTube will suggest relevant enterprise and emerging technology content to you. Thanks!

Support our mission:    >>>>>>  SUBSCRIBE NOW >>>>>>  to our YouTube channel.

… We’d also like to tell you about our mission and how you can help us fulfill it. SiliconANGLE Media Inc.’s business model is based on the intrinsic value of the content, not advertising. Unlike many online publications, we don’t have a paywall or run banner advertising, because we want to keep our journalism open, without influence or the need to chase traffic.The journalism, reporting and commentary on SiliconANGLE — along with live, unscripted video from our Silicon Valley studio and globe-trotting video teams at theCUBE — take a lot of hard work, time and money. Keeping the quality high requires the support of sponsors who are aligned with our vision of ad-free journalism content.

If you like the reporting, video interviews and other ad-free content here, please take a moment to check out a sample of the video content supported by our sponsors, tweet your support, and keep coming back to SiliconANGLE.