Skip to content

UPDATED 21:56 EDT / MAY 21 2024

AI

Microsoft’s AI screenshot function is being called a privacy nightmare

After Microsoft Corp. announced its Copilot+ Monday, potential consumers heard that personal computers running it could have a “photographic memory” of everything a person does on their machine, which has not surprisingly raised concern among some privacy experts.

Copilot+ PCs will be shipped with a slew of artificial intelligence features, including “Recall,” or should it be called “Total Recall?” The AI will keep track of everything people do on their PC by taking a screenshot every few seconds. What files they’ve opened, what apps they’ve used, what webpages they’ve visited, and what passwords or account details they’ve entered will all be logged and stored.

This might sound enticing on paper, given many PC users are prone to forget what they’ve done throughout the day on their device. But privacy advocates in the U.K. and the U.S. have pointed out that having a database of such information could be exploited by hackers.

In response, Microsoft has reminded users that the Recall feature can be turned off, or the user can limit what information it stores. The company has said the information cannot be accessed by anyone but the user, since everything is stored locally. Even so, if hackers can take control of that computer, they may now find a treasure trove of exploitable data.

The U.K.’s Information Commissioner’s Office said it’s now investigating what safeguards Microsoft has put in place to protect the user’s privacy. The watchdog told the BBC that it hopes Microsoft and all tech firms “rigorously assess and mitigate risks to peoples’ rights and freedoms” before letting a product loose on the market.

Another concern is the feature might have a “chilling effect” on users, who, if they use it, may decide it’s better not to search various documents or websites given their PC will now be taking screenshots every few seconds.

And what if employers tell employees they must have the feature turned on? It might then become a rather dystopian lens into that employee’s life, making sensitive data available while pressuring the worker to keep busy. Workers might not be told about the feature on their PC, or they might be fully aware of what it can do.

Photo: Tadas Sar/Unsplash

Send us a news tip

Send us a News Tip

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Sign in or create an account

SIGN IN

OR

New User? SIGN UP

Join us

SIGN UP

Bio

Ethics statement

Extract the signal from the noise

Get SiliconANGLE updates and analysis.

Contact us

Partner with us

Contact us

Guest inquiry